Apple iPad and the app store

Posted: April 28, 2010 in Rants & Raves, Technical

I recently decided to break down and buy my first apple product in a long time. I’m a PC, that’s for sure. I spend my days writing C# code, and designing windows applications.  But I like what the iPad can be, especially with its great battery life. So yeah, I bought an iPad.

So far, great device. Remembering that there’s no way you can do flash with it, there’s a good number of apps already out there that make up for the loss of capability compared to a PC.

Being the geek that I am, I am constantly looking at the app store to see if there’s anything new. I’ve started to notice lately how unbelievably horrible the app store actually is. Today I went in and saw the new urbanspoon app on the top lists. It says it’s in the travel category. But browse to the  travel category and look at all new apps and sort by release date, and there’s no new apps for the last 7 days. It makes no sense to me, especially from a programmers perspective. The other thing you can’t do is simply “view all” apps, and sort by whatever (i.e. release date, popularity, top grossing, etc). What’s wrong with that? I would love to sort by release date, and see all the apps released today. It doesn’t work that way.

However, I’ve turned to here: http://www.iphoneapplicationlist.com/Great reference for all applications for iphone and ipad. The only problem with it is that it is updated only once per day, so it seems.I tried to send apple support a simple email, but that’s not possible because they don’t have an “other” option when trying to contact support online. Pretty lame if you ask me.

UPDATE 6/22/2010: Apple has made several updates to the app store in the last couple months. They have added a bunch of ways to sort and filter apps. And an easy way to see the new daily apps. Great job Apple!

Leave a Reply

